I’m fascinated by people who can doodle.

If you’re one of these people, that might seem like an odd statement, as doodling doesn’t strike most people as a skill. But as someone who can’t doodle – I can assure you that it is.

Enter Zentangling*. A while back, someone was posting on my Insta feed about Zentangling – beautiful abstract art pieces created by repeating geometric patterns. It turns out each of the patterns, no matter how complicated they look, are actually created by simple, repeatable steps. In other words, it’s something that (supposedly) anyone can learn to do. And the results are beautiful.

IMG_8281.jpg

So I’m putting it to the test! I ordered the book One Zentangle A Day: A 6-Week Course in Creative Drawing for Relaxation, Inspiration, and Fun from Amazon, along with a sketch pad. I’m looking forward to not only learning to doodle, but seeing how having a creative project influences my very analytical dissertation work.

I intend to post pics here of my daily tangles, so get ready to 6 weeks of daily blog posts!

*I should mention that Zentangling is not considered doodling, but rather meditative art. That said, you can use Zentangling patterns to create doodles – which is really my purpose.

